Solving diffusion equation on mesh with multiple sub-regions

Greetings FreeFem community,

I am quite new to FreeFem/mmg tools and I’m trying to set-up a diffusion equation on a mesh with multiple regions (generated via supplying a level-set function to mmg2d)

What I want to do is “carve out” an initial sub-region via mmg and force the solution to be constant on one side of the sub-region and be integrated “normally” on the other side, with a Neumann boundary separating them both.

So as a first step, I managed to get mmg to remesh based on an implicit curve (circle) and successfully obtained a mesh with two regions:

Next, I set-up the diffusion problem initial condition, which looks something like this:

And then I set up the problem itself and integrate it with steps dt until Tmax is reached. What I’d expect with a zero-flux boundary is for the outer region to “diffuse” and the inner region to stay at the same constant value.

However, this is not what I observe:

i.imgur.com/W9WQlqQ.png

Here, obviously the isolines are passing through the circular boundary, i.e. the zero-flux condition was not respected.

For the diffusion equation Neuman b.c.s are natural, so there isn’t an operator like on() to set them explicitly, so the problem is elsewhere.

Maybe I am misunderstanding mmg2d’s resulting mesh, and elements with label = 10 is not understood by FreeFem as a boundary? ref: https://forum.mmgtools.org/t/mmg3d-how-to-identify-the-boundary-label/380

So this is where I need help - how do I set-up this problem properly?

Here’s a simplified script that illustrates my current attempts to approach this:

load "distance"
load "mmg"
load "ffrandom"

srandomdev();

int Nelements = 150;

// label references: https://forum.mmgtools.org/t/mmg3d-how-to-identify-the-boundary-label/380
int levelSetBoundaryLabel = 10;
int insideLevelSetRegionLabel = 3;
int outsideLevelSetRegionLabel = 2;

real dt = 0.1;
real Tmax = 5;

real D = 0.1;
int cIni = 5;
real cEq = 0.1;