Pressure projection methods

Hello, everyone. I’m a beginner in FreeFEM.

Currently, I’m attempting to decouple the velocity field and pressure field of the Navier-Stokes equations using the pressure projection method. In the first step, I aim to calculate the convergence order to validate the accuracy of my code. However, I’ve encountered some issues.

Here is my codetest_pressure_projection.edp (3.7 KB). I’m not sure whether it’s an issue with my understanding of the projection method or simply a coding problem.

The format I’m using is:

Hello,
Your algorithm is correct (but you need to take care of the boundary condition on p^{n+1}, this is a sensitive point). You forgot to code the convection. Moreover your computation of right-hand side f was mistaken.
The way you evaluate the order of convergence is not good: you cannot evaluate the convergence in time by diminishing the timestep at fixed mesh. You need to reduce both simultaneously (I did not modify that).
Francois.
test_pressure_projection.edp (3.9 KB)

Thank you very much for responding to my questions.

I looked up some references on the pressure projection method. In the second variational problem of updating pressure, the Neumann boundary condition of pressure is required. In practice, this condition is responsible for the errors this method shows close to the boundary of the domain since the real pressure (i.e., the pressure in the exact solution of the Navier-Stokes equations) does not satisfy such boundary conditions. But if the velocity can satisfy u·n=0 boundary condition, the Neumann boundary conditions of the pressure will naturally be obtained.

I see that what you added in the code is on(1,2,3,4,pnp1=pe(t))Dirichlet boundary condition. Is it correct?

Convergence order in L2 norm of u: 0, 0.158643, 1.05926, 0.962136, 0.74141, 0.496186. 
Convergence order in H1 norm of u: 0, 0.153184, 0.967829, 0.871569, 0.691116, 0.541268.