How to solve multiple problems in parallel (not domain decomposition)

I need to solve multiple instances of the Helmholtz equation with fixed matrix but different right-hand-sides. So I find this example. I have some experience with FEM in FreeFem and MATLAB, but zero experience with parallel computing. I have two questions regarding this example.

1. Is this code ready for parallel computing? Running the code with time ff-mpirun -np 4 takes even longer than time ff-mpirun -np 1 (almost 4 times longer). Using clock() I see it’s solved 4 times, each time takes the same amount of the time with -np 1. Should I run the code using other commands?

2. I suppose the code use some domain docomposition and parallel solver to speed up the computation. But in my case the bottleneck is on the function evaluation of the right-hand-side and the assembly of the FEM vector (line 31–35 in the example code). How do we speed up that part using multiple cores? I went through this post and the two YouTube videos but still have no clue (it seems the videos are about domain decomposition and parallel solver).

I also searched other posts but didn’t find a complete code. I hope somebody can provide a minimal but complete example for speeding up problems with multiple rhs (or multiple matrices).

1. What solver are you using?
  2. Domain decomposition is the most efficient way to speed up matrix and right-hand side assemblies.

Let’s look at this code snippet in the example.

int nRhs = 1000; // in my case I have a lot more iterations
complex[int, int] rhs(Vh.ndof, nRhs), sol(Vh.ndof, nRhs);
for(int i = 0; i < nRhs; ++i) {
    func f = 100 * exp(-20 * ((x-i/3.0)^2 + (y-i/3.0)^2)); // my function takes long to evaluate
    varf vRhs(u, v) = int2d(Th)(f * v);
    rhs(:, i) = vRhs(0, Vh);
}

When I run ff-mpirun -np 8 example14.edp, will the program distribute the for loop in 8 cores or decompose the mesh Th into 8 parts?

It will decompose Th into 8 parts.

Thank a lot!