FreeFem - PETSc compilation error - libblas.a/liblapack.a cannot be used

Hello,

I’m trying to compile FreeFem on a cray based hpc without any luck so far. I have compiled FreeFem multiple times already using this guide, but I have no experience in doing it on cray based systems.

The problem I’m running into is that PETSc can’t use libblas.a/liblapack.a no matter what I do. The main configure line I’m trying to run:

./configure --with-mpi-dir=/opt/cray/pe/mpich/8.1.27/ofi/cray/16.0/ --download-mumps  --download-parmetis --download-metis --download-hypre --download-superlu --download-slepc --download-hpddm --download-ptscotch --download-suitesparse --download-scalapack --download-tetgen --download-mmg --download-parmmg --with-fortran-bindings=no --with-scalar-type=real --with-debugging=no --download-bison --download-make --with-packages-download-dir=${PETSCBUILDETC_DIR}

The libraries are not present on the hpc I’m working on so at first I tried adding the --download-fblaslapack option to the configure line, but got an error at the end stating that the library cannot be used (attached configure.log file).

I tried looking for similar errors and found that the fortran compiler might be different for the libraries and PETSc so I tried compiling blas and lapack (tried both the netlib and openblas packeges) myself and added the cmake option -DCMAKE_Fortran_COMPILER=/opt/cray/pe/mpich/8.1.27/ofi/cray/16.0/bin/mpif90 so that the libraries would be compiled with the same fortran compiler as PETSc is and added the configure options --with-blas-lib=/home/p_mvgkm/p_mvgopt02/FreeFem/lapack/lib64/libblas.a (tried it with --with-blas-lib=/home/p_mvgkm/p_mvgopt02/FreeFem/blas/lib/libblas.a as well) and --with-lapack-lib=/home/p_mvgkm/p_mvgopt02/FreeFem/lapack/lib64/liblapack.a but got a similar error, stating the libraries cannot be used. (attached configure.log file)