Transient 2D piezoelectric problem

Hello All,

I am currently working on trying to implement a transient piezoelectric system in 2D. I have seen static and harmonic cases done and for the most part follow the formulation and implementation. However, in the case of the transient problem I am struggling due to the existence of the second order time derivative. Would anybody be able to recommend anything for solving this issue? I was thinking about implementing the Newmark method, however, was unsure how this would translate to the FreeFem code.

In the end I am hoping to set up a small animation but that comes after figuring this out! I am new to FreeFem and relatively new to FEM in general so it is very possible I am missing something basic but any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Will

I’m looking at some electrochemical systems such as polishing hoping to get to
blood coagulation soon. I saw a couple of interesting ways to handle
time - in one case the authors said something IIRC about correct to
second order but I can’t find ti offhand. I looked at just doing FEM along
the time axis which is possible in FF if you only have a 2D model.
I use the final time value as the initial condition for the next iteration
( see my earlier posts ).

You may want to look at that literature the equations are often similar
across disciplines but the names are entirely different :slight_smile:

1 Like

I guess acoustics may have some interesting literature, for example[1]. There is
an issue called pre-echo in audio compression not sure if that is related
to this but generally sampling rate issues may have some similarities.

[1]Dispersion-reducing finite elements for transient acoustics, Yue , Bin and Guddati , Murthy N.; The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America. 2005 2005
https://pubs.aip.org/asa/jasa/article/118/4/2132/904327/Dispersion-reducing-finite-elements-for-transient

Thank you, I’ll be sure to take a look!

piezosquare.edp (3.0 KB)