Time dependent Dirichlet BC

time_dependent_Dirichlet_BC.edp (3.0 KB)

Hello,

i am new to FreeFem and i am trying to simulate the propagation of an acoustic wave generated by a transducer by solving the wave equation with a time dependent Dirichlet boundary condition. Everething is working well if i use the “problem” approach (see the script attached).

Unfortunately, the code is a little bit slow for my computer and i’ve tried the “varf” approach which is way faster (part commented in the script attached). My problem is that i can not manage to impose the time dependent Dirichlet BC by using “varf”. The matrix is not updated in the time loop. I am definitely missing something.

Any help is much appreciated. Since i am new to FreeFem any suggestion on the code i wrote is welcomed.

Thank you,

Adrian

Hi,

You have a time-dependent BC by changing f, but you compute the M and AA matrix outside the time loop, so they remain constant during the simulation. This was the main issue of your code.

I modified your code to work with varf, so have a look at it to see how it works. I used a single varf statement, but you can decompose it into multiple statements to increase the performance (I mean if you can keep one of A or M constant, otherwise switching problem and varf has nothing to say with the speed of computation). One advantage of having varf formulation is that you can boost the performance by taking advantage of PETSc interface in FF, but I recommend you to first make it fully work in a sequential simulation (like what you have) and then parallelize it to make it much faster.
time_dependent_Dirichlet_BC.edp (3.0 KB)

Hello Mojtaba,