Implicit integration for elastodynamics using Newton's method

Following many examples provided in the FreeFem documentation (Non-linear elasticity, Non-linear static problems, Newton Method for the Steady Navier-Stokes equation, Incompressible Navier Stokes, Steady Navier Stokes, etc.), I went on to write a script which tries to perform an implicit integration in time of a beam subject to a mass at its tip using Newton’s method.
More precisely, the numerical example is the same as the one presented in Section 3.7.1 of this PhD manuscript, using a midpoint scheme (see Section 3.4.4 of the same manuscript). The system of equations is defined in Section 3.2.2, equation (3.5).

Issues.
The integration scheme cannot reproduce their numerical results. My vertical displacement is not reaching values larger than 10^{-14} meters. Since I am very new to FreeFem, I think the major source of mistakes lies between the chair and the computer. Even if the code is somewhat complicated, maybe just a glance at it from experts here would suffice to know what I am doing wrong.
I include the theory for this problem just after, how to perform Newton’s method in this case as well as the relevant computations (differentials for the most part), and then the whole code at the bottom as well as some personal comments on it. In particular, I am not sure whether I did the correct construction to apply surface forces only on a part of the mesh. I also hope Newton’s update are done correctly. Any feedback, even minor, is appreciated.

Theory and context.
Denoting by \varphi the displacement, \dot{\varphi} the velocity and p the pressure (seen here as a Lagrange multiplier for the quasi-incompressibility constraint), the midpoint scheme reads