Different spaces for different variables

Dear, i’m a beginner to this program and I was trying to implement a problem linked to the 1D heat equation. According to the author, I need to use P1 to approximate the time variable and P3 for the space variable. However, when I define fespace I cannot indicate this information.

For example, if I write fespace Vh(QT, P1); Vh u, v, I understand that in both variables the approximation is being done by P1.

You can separate the spaces and variables, as

fespace Vh(QT,P1);
fespace Wh(QT,P2);
Vh u;
Wh v,b;

In this case u is P1, v and b are in P2

I’m trying to get the solution for the following problem:

problem heateq(u, v, solver = Cholesky)
= int2d(QT)( (A1 * u + A2 * dy(u) + A3 * dx(u) + A4 * dxx(u)) * (A1 * v + A2 * dy(v) + A3 * dx(v) + A4 * dxx(v)))
+ int2d(QT)((.5 - t)^(2 * alpha) * u * v * ((x >= .3) * (x <= .6))*one)
- int1d(QT, 1)((.5^alpha) * t0 * rho0 * v);

The author mentions that he used polynomials of the type P(K) = (P3,x ⊗ P1,t)(K).

However, if I write as you suggested, I understand that I would have to define two “u”, however, I don’t know how to adapt the problem, if this is the correct idea,

Probably you have only two variables t (real) and x (real 1d).

I think that you should understand the statement “P(K) = (P3,x ⊗ P1,t)(K)” by
u(t,x)=\frac{t^{n+1}-t}{t^{n+1}-t^n}u^n(x)+\frac{t-t^n}{t^{n+1}-t^n}u^{n+1}(x), for t^n<t<t^{n+1}
Then you need only to resolve u^n(x) for n=0,1... and x in an interval. Thus it is a 1d problem, and known u^n(x) you need to solve a 1d equation to get u^{n+1}(x) that needs to be P3.

Interesting. If I follow this suggestion, how should I consider the terms “dy(u)” and “dy(v)”, since these terms I used to indicate the derivative at t?

You replace the time derivative by a finite difference
\frac{du}{dt}\simeq \frac{u^{n+1}-u^n}{dt}
This is coherent with the above approximation of u(t,x).